Somalia, Pakistan, Panama" />

UN General Assembly elects 5 non-permanent members to UN Security Council

Filed under: All News,more news,RECENT POSTS |

Somalia, Pakistan, Panama, Greece and Denmark won elections at the General AssemblySomalia, Pakistan, Panama, Greece, Denmark elected for 2025 – 2026 termThe UN General Assembly on Thursday elected five non-permanent members to the UN Security Council (UNSC) for the 2025-2026 term

UN General Assembly elects 5 non-permanent members to UN Security Council
UN General Assembly

Somalia received 179 votes, Pakistan 182, Panama 183, Greece 182 and Denmark 184, meeting the criterion of obtaining two-thirds of the votes to replace Ecuador, Japan, Malta, Mozambique and Switzerland.

The new members will serve as non-permanent UNSC members from Jan. 1, 2025, to Dec. 31, 2026.

Pakistan previously served seven times as a non-permanent UNSC member, Panama five, Denmark four, Greece twice and Somalia once.

In the Security Council, which has five permanent members — China, France, Russia, the UK, and the US — there are also 10 non-permanent members elected for two-year terms. Five of the non-permanent members are elected every year.

In elections conducted according to geographical distribution, two seats are allocated to the African Group, one to the Asia-Pacific Group, one to the Latin American and Caribbean Group and one to the Eastern European Group.

Candidates must receive two-thirds of the votes, which corresponds to 129 votes out of the 193-member General Assembly.