China imposes sanctions on seven US individuals, entity

Filed under: All News,more news,RECENT POSTS |

Beijing has imposed sanctions on seven US individuals and entities, including former US secretary of commerce Wilbur Ross, for Washington’s recent erroneous moves related to Hong Kong Special Administrative Region.

The countermeasure by China is based on the Anti-Foreign Sanctions Law, according to a press release by the foreign ministry on Friday.

The rest of those sanctioned are Chairman of US-China Economic and Security Review Commission (USCC) Carolyn Bartholomew, former Staff Director of Congressional-Executive Commission on China (CECC) Jonathan Stivers, DoYun Kim at the National Democratic Institute for International Affairs, senior program manager of the International Republican Institute (IRI) Adam Joseph King, China Director at Human Rights Watch Sophie Richardson, and Hong Kong Democratic Council.

The sanctions are a response to the US government issuing the so-called Hong Kong Business Advisory on July 16 and it imposing sanctions on seven officials of the Liaison Office of the Central People’s Government in Hong Kong, the statement said.

“These acts gravely violate international law and basic norms governing international relations, and severely interfere in China’s internal affairs. China firmly opposes and strongly condemns this,” the statement said.

It added that Hong Kong affairs are an integral part of China’s internal affairs, and “any attempt by external forces to interfere in Hong Kong’s affairs would be as futile as an ant trying to shake a big tree”.